twitter google

Randy Couture press conference to be covered live

The power that Randy Couture has in this industry will never be more evident than on Thursday when he holds a press conference in Las Vegas at 4:30 p.m. ET/1:30 p.m. PT where the three-time UFC heavyweight champion plans to respond to comments made by UFC president Dana White in regard to his departure from the promotion; address a report on Yahoo! Sports that claims Couture is earning between $3.25 million-$3.75 million per fight on his current contract (a report that Kevin Iole stands by); and respond to questions from the media.

Couture’s press conference will not be held in a vacuum as HDNet issued a press release today announcing a special live edition of their weekly MMA news magazine “Inside MMA” that will cover the press conference live.

Additionally, is planning a live forum chat at 4 p.m. ET/1 p.m. PT in which fighters will be on hand at the press conference updating everyone with what’s going on. will also be conducting interviews at the press conference and making the video available on its site.

I haven’t received any word from The Fight Network but I know Mauro Ranallo was at the Fedor press conference on Monday so I’m almost positive they’ll be sending some people out to cover Couture’s press conference on Thursday.

This should be very interesting because the MMA media is treating Couture’s press conference in the same manner in which ESPN would if Kobe Bryant announced he would never play another regular season game for the Lakers. If Couture’s goal is to put public pressure on the UFC to let him out of his contract so he can fight Fedor, he’s going to have a large audience in which he can try to appeal to.