twitter google

Brian Bowles Destroys Miguel Torres at WEC 42

brian-bowlesSeventeen consecutive victories came crashing to an end for Miguel Torres this evening in Las Vegas at WEC 42 as Brian Bowles battered the former champ with a barrage of heavy punches to claim the WEC bantamweight crown.

The two started out exchanging on both the feet and canvas before a huge right hand from Bowles sent Torres sailing to the mat. From there Miguel was crushed with another vicious right hand as he was incoherently searching for an armbar. Perhaps referee Josh Rosenthal gave Torres a little too much time to recover as the former champion took several unnecessary punches before the bouts eventual stoppage.

Most of the card was spent hyping up Torres and potential challengers to his title in Takeya Mizugaki and Dominick Cruz, so it remains to be seen if he will be offered a direct rematch against Bowles or not. Following three consecutive title defenses in the WEC it would be hard to argue that he shouldn’t.

Dominick Cruz pulled off another mild shocker when he handed the favored Joseph Benavidez the first loss of his career in the form of a very hard fought decision. This fast paced bout between bantamweight challengers could easily make the claim for being “Fight of the Night”.

Takeya Mizugaki rebounded from his recent loss to Miguel Torres in the WEC by handing Jeff Curran his fourth consecutive loss in a bout the Japanese fighter controlled with strong takedowns and top control.

Also on the card was an exciting back and forth battle between Leonard Garcia and Jameel Massouh where both men had their opponent badly rocked before Garcia was eventually awarded the split decision victory.

A full list of the results from WEC 42 are listed below:

L.C. DAVIS VS. JAVIER VASQUEZ – Winner: L.C. Davis via split decision

DIEGO NUNES VS. RAFAEL DIAS – Winner: Diego Nunes via unanimous decision

RANI YAHYA VS. JOHN HOSMAN – Winner: Rani Yahya via submission (north-south choke) – Round 1

PHIL CARDELLA VS. ED RATCLIFF – Winner: Ed Ratcliff via unanimous decision

MARCUS HICKS VS. SHANE ROLLER – Winner: Shane Roller via unanimous decision

FREDSON PAIXAO VS COLE PROVINCE – Winner: Cole Province via unanimous decision

LEONARD GARCIA VS. JAMEEL MASSOUH – Winner: Leonard Garcia via split decision

JEFF CURRAN VS. TAKEYA MIZUGAKI – Winner: Takeya Mizugaki via split decision

RICARDO LLAMAS VS. DANNY CASTILLO – Winner: Danny Castillo via TKO – Round 2

JOSEPH BENAVIDEZ VS. DOMINICK CRUZ – Winner: Dominick Cruz via unanimous decision

MIGUEL TORRES VS. BRIAN BOWLES – Winner: Brian Bowles via knockout – Round 1

Follow 5OZ