twitter google

5 Oz. 2009 MMA Awards: Fight of the Year

Ladies and gentlemen, it’s time! It has been an extraordinary year of ups and down for all of those involved in the rapidly growing world of mixed martial arts, but all things must come to an end, and it’s time for to dish out our official year end awards for the crazy year that was 2009.

We’ll be diving headfirst into a series of fifteen end of the year awards, with a new award being distributed every single day through December 31 with a special two part New Years Day year-end award extravaganza.

In this edition we have FiveOuncesofPain’s top fights of 2009:

gilbert melendez josh thomson banner

1. Gilbert Melendez vs. Josh Thomson II – Strikeforce: Evolution

2. Benson Henderson vs. Donald Cerrone – WEC 43

3. Randy Couture vs. Antonio Rodrigo Nogueira – UFC 102

4. Miguel Torres vs. Takeya Mizugaki – WEC 40

5. Nate Quarry vs. Tim Credeur – UFC Fight Night: Diaz vs. Guillard

Honorable Mentions (in no particular order):

Diego Sanchez vs. Clay Guida – The Ultimate Fighter 9 Finale

Martin Kampmann vs. Carlos Condit – UFC Fight Night 18

Fedor Emelianenko vs. Brett Rogers – Strikeforce: Fedor vs. Rogers

Pat Barry vs. Antoni Hardonk – UFC 104

Rich Franklin vs. Wanderlei Silva – UFC 99

Scott Jorgensen vs. Takeya Mizugaki – WEC 45

Carlos Condit vs. Jake Ellenberger – UFC Fight Night: Diaz vs. Guillard

Scott Smith vs. Benji Radach – Strikeforce: Shamrock vs. Diaz

Jorge Gurgel vs. Conor Heun – Strikeforce Challengers: Cyborg vs. Villasenor

Jamie Varner vs. Donald Cerrone – WEC 38

Hideo Tokoro vs. Abel Cullum – DREAM 9

Scott Smith vs. Cung Le – Strikeforce: Evolution

Donald Cerrone vs. Ed Ratcliff – WEC 45

Follow 5OZ