twitter google

Former champions fall, emerge victorious at stacked War on the Mainland event

35-year old Jens Pulver made his return to the ring at 155-pounds on Saturday night and left with his head hung low as he has seven of eight times before his bout against Diego Garijo at PWP’s “War on the Mainland” event. Pulver, whose previous five fights came at featherweight, was dropped by a straight punch early, then submitted via guillotine choke a little over a minute into the first round. The loss was the sixth consecutive defeat for “Little Evil”

Meanwhile, Thales Leites was submitted for the first time in his 21-fight career by former IFL middleweight champion Matt Horwich in a battle for the PWP 185-pound title. His rear-naked choke of Leites came shortly into the fourth round after three rounds of grappling prowess being put on display by both in the preceding frames.

Also successful in an attempt at winning a championship was Tony Lopez who left UFC veteran Jason Lambert face-down on the canvas in the second round of their light heavyweight title-bout after a punch following a brutal knee rendered Lambert into a relative puddle of goo. The win was the nineteenth of Lopez’s career and prevented “The Punisher” from taking home his third straight victory.

In main event action, two-time UFC Heavyweight Champion Tim Sylvia was more fortunate where a trio of consecutive wins where concerned. Sylvia flattened opponent Paul Buentello in the final seconds of the second round of their PWP title bout courtesy of a series of knees and an uppercut against the ropes. Up next for “The Maine-iac” is Pedro Rizzo who entered the ring after the match-up had concluded and expressed his intent to win Sylvia’s new shiny beltbuckle.

A full list of results from “War on the Mainland” can be found below:

A.J. Matthews def. Sean Choice via TKO Round 2
Cleber Luciano def. Todd Willingham via Submission Round 2 (Rear-Naked Choke)
Gustavo Machado def. Rick Reeves via Split Decision
Diego Garijo def. Jens Pulver via Submission Round 1 (Guillotine Choke)
Erin Beach def. Joao Silva via Unanimous Decision
Matt Horwich def. Thales Leites via Submission Round 4 (Rear-Naked Choke)
Tony Lopez def. Jason Lambert via KO Round 2
Terry Martin def. Jorge Ortiz via Split Decision
Tim Sylvia def. Paul Buentello via KO Round 2

Follow 5OZ