twitter google

Dominck Cruz retains in closely contested championship clash against Joseph Benavidez

To the surprise of few in attendance or tuning in on Versus, WEC put on another exciting event as has been the case far more often than not in recent history. WEC 50 offered a little bit of something for everyone – knockouts, back-and-forth battles, a split-decision championship bout, and Anthony Pettis’ contendership-claiming triangle choke in the last ten seconds of his bout against Shane Roller.

Pettis ran his record to 12-1 with the scorecard-avoiding submission over Roller and will likely get a crack at Ben Henderson’s WEC lightweight belt at some point in the near future as a result. The win was Pettis’ third straight and brought his record to 4-1 in the promotion, the one exception being a split-decision loss at WEC 45.

Meanwhile, headliners Dominick Cruz and Joseph Benavidez scrapped for five rounds with bloodied 135-pound champ Cruz emerging victorious and retaining his belt in the end. The fight featured even exchanges during stand-up sequences, as well as when action hit the mat, and was apparently won by the well-timed takedowns Cruz scored towards the end of each round. “The Dominator” is now 16-1 and won seven consecutive fights.

Also in WEC 50 action, Bart Palaszewski knocked out opponent Zach Micklewright half-a-minute into the second round of their main card bout. Micklewright was previously undefeated entering the fight, while Palaszewski has now won his last four match-ups and improved to 35-13 as a result of the win.

A full list of results from WEC 50 can be found below:

Dan Castillo def. Dustin Poirier via Unanimous Decision
Fredson Paixao def. Bryan Caraway via Split Decision
Ricardo Lamas def. David Jansen via Unanimous Decision
Javier Vazquez def. Mackens Semerzier via Submission (Rear-Naked Choke) Round 2
Maciej Jewtuszko def. Anthony Njokuani via TKO Round 1
Bart Palaszewski def. Zach Micklewright via TKO Round 2
Scott Jorgensen def. Brad Pickett via Unanimous Decision
Chad Mendes def. Cub Swanson via Unanimous Decision
Anthony Pettis def. Shane Roller via Submission (Triangle Choke) Round 3
Dominick Cruz def. Joseph Benavidez via Split Decision

Follow 5OZ