twitter google

WEC 50 Salary and Bonus Information

On top of solidifying his spot as top contender to bantamweight champion Dominick Cruz’s title with a hard-fought win over Brad “One Punch” Pickett at WEC 50, Scott Jorgensen also took home the distinction of being the event’s top earner in part due to a $10,000 “Fight of the Night” bonus for the performance against American Top Team’s Pickett. In total Jorgensen made $35,000 for his work at the show.

News of the bonus was announced at the post-event press conference, while salary information was obtained from the Nevada State Athletic Commission by Five Ounces of Pain.

Also standing out in the bunch, Anthony Pettis lived up to his nickname of “Showtime” by locking Shane Roller into a triangle choke with ten seconds remaining in their bout and scoring the tap-out victory as a result. Pettis’ memorable finish was named “Submission of the Night” and netted him ten-thousand dollars for the honor.

“Knockout of the Night” went to newcomer Maciej Jewtuszko. The undefeated lightweight out of Poland improved his record to 8-0, and nearly tripled his original salary with the award, by knocking WEC veteran Anthony Njokuani out a little over 90 seconds into their fight.

Here is a complete rundown of WEC 50 payment information made available including event-specific bonuses:

Dan Castillo – $19,000 (includes $9,500 win bonus) def. Dustin Poirier – $3,000
Fredson Paixao – $6,000 (includes $3,000 win bonus) def. Bryan Caraway – $4,000
Ricardo Lamas – $14,000 (includes $7,000 win bonus) def. David Jansen – $4,000
Javier Vazquez – $16,000 (includes $8,000 win bonus) def. Mackens Semerzier – $4,000
Maciej Jewtuszko – $16,000 (includes $3,000 win bonus, $10,000 “Knockout of the Night” bonus) def. Anthony Njokuani – $7,000
Bart Palaszewski – $16,000 (includes $8,000 win bonus) def. Zach Micklewright – $3,000
Scott Jorgensen – $35,000 (includes $12,500 win bonus, $10,000 “Fight of the Night” bonus) def. Brad Pickett – $15,000 (includes $10,000 “Fight of the Night” bonus)
Chad Mendes – $11,000 (includes $5,500 win bonus) def. Cub Swanson – $11,000
Anthony Pettis – $22,000 (includes $6,000 win bonus, $10,000 “Submission of the Night” bonus) def. Shane Roller – $16,000
Dominick Cruz – $22,000 (includes $11,000 win bonus) def. Joseph Benavidez – $17,500

Follow 5OZ