twitter google

UFC 119 fighters leave Indianapolis with $350,000 in bonuses

Five fighters on the UFC 119 card received an additional $70,000 for their performances in Indianapolis. Interestingly enough, Frank Mir was not one of them. Though the former UFC heavyweight champ scored the card’s only knockout, no “Knockout of the Night” bonus was actually awarded for his flattening of Mirko Filipovic.

No official reason was given for the omission. However, it seems plausible the decision could indicate executives’ displeasure with the lackluster showing from Mir prior to his night-ending knee.

News of the bonuses was announced at the post-event press conference.

While no “Knockout of the Night” was given, dual “Fight of the Night” honors were handed out. Both Evan Dunham and Sean Sherk, as well as Matt Mitrione and Joey Beltran, were announced as a quartet of winners for their pair of highly entertaining, hard-fought bouts.

Meanwhile, CB Dollaway’s opening-frame Guillotine Choke of submission-savvy opponent Joe Doerksen earned him “Submission of the Night” and the seventy-thousand dollars. The result marked Dollaway’s third consecutive victory, while snapping a seven-fight win streak for Doerksen and being the first time he’d tapped out since October 2005.

Follow 5OZ