twitter google

Cain Velasquez exits Anaheim the new UFC Heavyweight Champion

Fans flocking to the Honda Center for UFC 121 had an opportunity to see history in the making, as undefeated Latino heavyweight Cain Velasquez dominated Brock Lesnar throughout the duration of their headlining bout and walked away champion. Velasquez weathered an early charge from Lesnar and used technique to overcome the former title-holder’s brute strength. His subsequent TKO victory came a little more than four minutes into the fight.

Also successful at the event, though in less-convincing fashion, was Jake Shields. The former Strikeforce 185-pound champ, Shields, did little damage to opponent Martin Kampmann, but was able to use superior grappling to hold the Dutchman down for fifteen minutes and escape a number of submission attempts in the process. The performance netted him a split-decision victory.

The full list of “UFC 121: Lesnar vs. Velasquez” live results is as follows:

Jon Madsen def. Gilbert Yvel via TKO Round 1
Chris Camozzi def. Dongi Yang via Split Decision
Sam Stout def. Paul Taylor via Split Decision
Daniel Roberts def. Mike Guymon via Submission Round 1 (Anaconda Choke)
Tom Lawlor def. Patrick Cote via Unanimous Decision
Court McGee def. Ryan Jensen via Submission Round 3 (Arm-Triangle Choke)
Brendan Schaub def. Gabriel Gonzaga via Unanimous Decision
Matt Hamill def. Tito Ortiz via Unanimous Decision
Diego Sanchez def. Paulo Thiago via Unanimous Decision
Jake Shields def. Martin Kampmann via Split Decision
Cain Velasquez def. Brock Lesnar via TKO Round 1

Follow 5OZ