Semerzier vs. Peralta bout changed to a No Contest by the CSAC

Good news for Mackens Semerzier. His bout against Robert Peralta, which originally went down as a third round TKO loss, has been changed to a No Contest by the California State Athletic Commission after they determined that an accidental, but illegal, head butt directly led to the finish.

The bout took place on November 12 as part of the preliminary portion on the inaugural UFC on FOX event.

Referee John McCarthy did not see the foul during the live action but was told of the incident well after the bout had concluded. McCarthy had the option to review the ending at one of the cageside monitors. Had the foul been detected, the fight would have gone to the judges scorecards with the first two rounds and all the third round action prior to the foul being scored.

Semerzier has openly lobbied for a rematch, but nothing has been made official.

*PHOTO CREDIT – ESTHER LIN*

LEAVE A COMMENT!

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Follow 5OZ