twitter google

Tito Ortiz exits the UFC with Fight of the Night honors in tow

It may not have resulted in the winning note he so desperately wanted leave MMA on, but iconic UFC light heavyweight Tito Ortiz made his fans proud last night at UFC 148 with a solid effort against fellow former champion Forrest Griffin in their co-headlining clash. The bout saw each man land a number of solid strikes including two from Ortiz putting Griffin on his backside.

Though in the end Griffin received the judges’ nod, Ortiz still left the cage a winner of sorts after the match-up was named Fight of the Night and earned each man an extra $75,000 dollars on top of his regularly contracted rate.

Knockout of the Night went to Anderson Silva for his stoppage of Chael Sonnen. The finishing sequence came after Silva ducked under an attempted spinning backfist, leaving Sonnen off balance and on the mat. Silva quickly rushed over to his fallen foe and landed a perfectly-placed knee to Sonnen’s chest, then followed up with more strikes once Sonnen had returned to his feet to drop him and ultimately pick up the TKO with his ensuing attack. He too won $75,000 for the distinction.

No Submission of the Night was awarded as no submissions came into play at the event.

PHOTO CREDIT – UFC

3 COMMENTS
  • Screenplaya says:

    Very entertaining and competitive fight with a razor-thin decision. Not a bad way to hang ‘em up, Tito. Not bad at all. Both guys deserved the extra cash and I hope the UFC tossed some of the un-allocated Submission of the Night money as a going away gift forTito.

    I was never a big fan of Ortiz, but I liked the way he turned things around at the end of his career.

    Happy trails, champ.

    Agree or Disagree: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 0

  • qat says:

    The fight was entertaining, but too sloppy for me to give it a nod as FOTN over Le vs. Cote. But i can live with that.

    Wasnt Maia vs. Kim technically a verbal submission? Not that is was worthy of a bonus, but still i would say Kim gave up.

    Agree or Disagree: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

  • AlphaOmega says:

    I think it was ruled a TKO via injury

    Agree or Disagree: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0

LEAVE A COMMENT!

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Follow 5OZ