Alessio Sakara not granted opportunity to appeal disqualification loss to Patrick Cote

Though there were plenty of highlights last weekend at UFC 154, one of the event’s most memorable moments occurred on the opposite side of the entertainment spectrum as the result of a confusing sequence involving middleweights Patrick Cote-Alessio Sakara. During their bout, Sakara landed a number of strikes to the back of Cote’s head, crumbling the Canadian and initially earning him a TKO win. However, based on the illegal nature of the blows, ringside officials decided to overturn things and handed Cote a disqualification victory.

Sakara’s camp wasted little time coming forward to oppose the ruling, disputing referee Dan Miragliotta’s take about issuing multiple warnings and asking for the loss to be changed to a No Contest. However, it looks like their efforts were in vain, as the athletic commission in Quebec has ruled that Sakara cannot contest an arbitrator’s decision.

News of the matter was first reported by Canadian outlet LaPresse.

As such, the outcome in the fight will stand, leaving Cote’s overall record at 18-8 and marking the third straight loss for Sakara.

PHOTO CREDIT – UFC

2 COMMENTS
LEAVE A COMMENT!

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Follow 5OZ