twitter google

Special WSOF Marathon Set For NBC Sports Network

wsof

Eight hours of World Series of Fighting action will hit NBC Sports Network on New Year’s Day, including several title fights.

The marathon begins at 5 p.m. ET and will feature WSOF 22, WSOF 23, WSOF 24 and WSOF 25.

Below is the complete press release:

World Series of Fighting (WSOF.com) and NBCSN will treat fans to an action-packed, eight-hour television marathon featuring four of the world championship Mixed Martial Arts (MMA) league’s most memorable events of 2015, this Friday, Jan. 1, beginning at 5 p.m. ET/2 p.m. PT.

The New Year’s Day run will kick off with a replay of WSOF22: Palhares vs. Shields, which was highlighted by a welterweight world championship fight between then-reigning champion Rousimar Palhares and superstar Jake Shields, and will conclude with a re-airing of WSOF25: 8-Man Lightweight Tournament, featuring the first one-night tournament in World Series of Fighting history.

“We are excited to head into our fourth year of league operations in 2016 and, thanks to our great television partner, NBCSN, look forward to kicking off the New Year in full force with an extensive run of programming featuring some phenomenal action from our 2015 library,” said World Series of Fighting CEO Carlos Silva.

“We are excited to provide fans with the opportunity to relive some of the incredible, world championship MMA action that highlighted a tremendous year for World Series of Fighting in 2015,” said Gary Quinn, NBC Sports Group’s vice president of programming.

The marathon will include WSOF23: Gaethje vs. Palomino that was headlined by one of the most talked about battles of the year – the world lightweight (155 pounds) championship matchup between reigning, undefeated champion Justin “The Highlight” Gaethje and challenger Luis Palomino. The title bout was named Fight of the Month in March, and led to a worthy rematch between the two stars six months later.

Also slotted into the eight-hour programming run is WSOF24: Fitch vs. Okami, which saw two former top 10 welterweight (170 pounds) superstars and decorated veterans, Jon Fitch and Yushin Okami, battle in the main event.

Live World Series of Fighting action will return to NBCSN from Memphis, Tenn. on Saturday, Jan. 23 at 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT, with a four-fight telecast headlined by a lightweight collision between rival stars Caros “The Future” Fodor and Mike “The Martian” Ricci.

Complete World Series of Fighting programming schedule on NBCSN for Friday, Jan 1:

-5 p.m. ET/2 p.m. PT – WSOF22: Palhares vs. Shields
-7 p.m. ET/4 p.m. PT – WSOF23: Gaethje vs. Palomino
-9 p.m. ET/6 p.m. PT – WSOF24: Fitch vs. Okami
-11 p.m. ET/8 p.m. PT – WSOF25: 8-Man Lightweight Tournament

Follow 5OZ